People & Perception

As I mentioned in my last post, the sermon impacted me to a great extent this week.  I talked about my hardest struggle, power and control.  In a close second place, people and perception are another struggle I deal with.

Thinking about others perception of you is a constant factor in most of our lives.  We are continuosly thinking about what others think of us.  This is also a heightened trait in my personality.  As a child, I felt like I was constantly being judged and percieved negatively.  I always had to give a reason for how I acted, good or bad.  I also do not like conflict.  I stray as far as I can from any drama or conflict.

Why do we define our worth from anyone other than God?  God is the Supreme Power and is the only one truly worthy of this title.  Giving someone the power of your worth places much pressure on that person.  I know several people that place their  life in the hands of what others do.  This places a lot of pressure on those people to make that person happy.  It is very exhausting.

Ephesians 2: 8-9 come to mind. “For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves, it is a gift of God.  Not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.”

We are not here to impress others or even impress God.  We are saved through faith, not our works.  This is something that I need to keep in mind everyday.

Leave a Reply

