For thus the Lord G OD, the Holy One of Israel, has said, “In repentance and rest you will be saved, In quietness and trust is your strength.” But you were not willing, (‭Isaiah‬ ‭30‬:‭15‬ NASB)

What things in your life are difficult to surrender to “resting in God?” Like Judah taking the Egyptians’ horses, what are a few things that you find security in? What can you surrender and trust to God and believe that He will accomplish even as you rest?

I have a tendency to get easily worked up about things and not fully trust in God’ plan.  When God gives me an answer to prayer, I tend to get excited and come to an extenive plan without relying on God to work the rest out.

For example, I decided I wanted to go to law school last year.  Answered prayers starting popping up left and right.  My husband got a permanent position at work, so then I was able to start school and finish my bachelor’s degree.  Shortly after I started school, a job opportuntiy became available at my work that I wasn’t expecting and was a perfect fit for someone who wants to attend law school.  I interviewed and got the job!  My firsts semester back to school has been a bit rough, epecially on top of starting a new job.  I had a minor breakdown a couple weeks ago and was anxious about fitting everything in to this “time frame” in my mind.  I want to start law school in Fall of 2016, but that means alot of hard work between now and then.  I also want to stay working full time when I got to law school.  My husband and I also want to have children soon, but are not sure when is te right time to start.  I became super overwhelmed with all these decisions and felt like it was impossible.  My husband began to talk me down from my minor “freak out” and told me that God will work everything out.  He told me straight up that I need to stop limiting God and limiting the other possibilites that God make happen.  Things change and they are allowed to change.  I strugle with thinking outside the box and swaying away from a plan.  Maybe I will decide not to go to law school, maybe I will get a scholarship to law school, maybe I will have to wait to go to law school to save up money…. there are several roads to get where God wants me to be.  I need to let God do the guiding and stop over-analyzing every decision I make.

I don’t know why I keep falling back into the sin of anxiety and not trusting God.  He has been so good to me and has provided me with so many blessings.

I need to take a chill pill and not get worked up about things.  God has taken care of me all my life, why would He stop?

Leave a Reply

