Worry Less, Run More

IMG_2320

Over the past couple years, I have took up running on a more consistent basis.  I have ran two half-marathons and my third in May.  The more I run, the more I fall in love with it.  I think a major component of my new found love for running is my anxiety.

I have struggled with anxiety for a couple years now.  I have had two anxiety attacks.  Two anxiety attacks may seem small to you, but if you have ever had one you know it’s not something you want to repeat.  The most scary part of an anxiety attack is that you don’t know it’s coming.  For me, I get anxiety attacks at the most random times.  I could not be anxious at all for weeks and then BOOM I feel like my world is falling apart.  I have come to the conclusion that my anxiety builds up, then needs to release and that is when an anxiety attack occurs.  So….to stop this build up of worry, running and praying have been the secret key.

I hope to never take medication for my anxiety.  I feel praying, running and yoga can release the build up I have inside.  It’s so odd how you can feel the build up inside you.  A couple weeks ago I went for a run because I felt the tension lurking.  I ran a nine minute mile!!   First off, I hadn’t been running in two months and second, I can’t even do that when I have been running on a consistent weekly basis.  It’s amazing how your body works, all you have to do is listen to it.

I am starting my consistent running routine to be ready for the half marathon in May.  My goal is to run it in 2:15-2:30 hours.  I believe I can do this as long as I train my hardest.  I just bought a legit pair of running shoes based on how I run and my feet.  I bought a cute and practical winter running outfit.  I never thought cute running clothes would be motivating, but it has made a difference for me.  I am ready to complete this accomplishment I have a keep up consistent running.

One thought on “Worry Less, Run More”

  1. After I started my divorce process i picked up running as a way to help me through. I received so much clarity and eventual peace on my runs. They are life saving in my opinion. Just keep running. 🙂

Leave a Reply

