What has changed in your life?

4a18ffbe8c18edadb754af13d68b61d9

This quote embodies how I feel lately.  I am getting to an age where I can look back on parts of my life where I have seen growth, change and heartache.

I have lived in the same city.  I have worked in the same place.  I have been with the same man.  I have known most of my friends for at least a third of my life.  I have been a Christian most of my life.  Nothing seems to change, but everything has.  How does that work?

I have lived in a city where they are slight underdog.  My city does not get as much credit as it deserves.  It’s an up and coming city, just as interesting and artistic as NYC or Chicago.  I think the thing that sets it apart is that it is down to earth.  I am not saying that NYC and Chicago are not, but my city might not be as intimidating.  As a child I rarely went downtown, maybe for a show or a school field trip.  As an adult, I absolutely love the city and what it has to offer.  I love the feelings it brings.  The opportunities and potential it has.  It reminds me of myself, a young woman where the world is your oyster.

I have been at the same job for almost a decade.  It’s been a love-hate relationship.  It’s been a great experience. I absolutely love what I have learned from my job and from my co-workers.  Sometimes I just get aggravated that I can’t make more of an impact.  The thing is, without my job I would have never been to the point I am now.  I am ready to move on to something bigger and better.  I am now in the process of attaining that goal.

I have been with the same man for over a decade, married for almost eight years.  It’s been the best ride of my life.  We have grown up together.  We have been there for each other through happy and sad times.  We have pushed each other to better people and to attain our goals.  God has truly blessed me with an amazing man.  When I look back on our relationship, its crazy how different we are now.  We are more improved versions of ourselves.

I have known most of my good friends for six years to over a decade.  Its amazing the bonds we have made.  I don’t know how they even started!  The connections I have made are far greater than I could ever have imagined.

I have been a Christian for most of my life.  Most of my Christian growth have been in the past couple years.  I have prayed and relied on God more than I ever had.  It has been the best time of my life and I don’t know where I would be without God in my life.  His timing, His plan for my life have opened my eyes to His amazing power and promises.

This has been sort of a rambling post, but when I saw this quote it made me appreciate my age and what I have learned in life thus far.

Leave a Reply

