10 Lessons from a Twenty-Something

I have been on this earth for 26 years.  I am finally to an age where a have bit of wisdom and experience to talk about.  🙂

So here are the lessons I have learned thus far…

1.  You need God in your life.

I know some of you may not be religious or believe in God, but it has been the best thing I have ever done.  The strength, guidance, patience, direction, hope and love I feel when God is in my life cannot compare to times in my life where I did not acknowledge Him or pray to Him.  It’s like night and day.  The sense of peace and satisfaction you have cannot be explained, painted or described.

2.  Don’t let others expectations control you.

This is a very hard lesson I have had to learn.  I am still dealing with it and I am sure I will deal with it for the rest of my life.  I have started to open my eyes wide open to it.  I tried to make people happy so they wouldn’t be mad at me or disappointed in me.  You know what happened?  Someone was still mad or disappointed and I was miserable.  I have finally started to let those expectations go and man do I feel a weight lifted off my chest.  I have never felt so free in my life.

3. Anxiety and Worry are not positive attributes to have

Like lesson #2, anxiety and worry will be something that I will always have to deal with.  I have spent so much time worrying about things I cannot control.  Things will happen no matter what.  We have to stop ourselves from letting those thoughts consume us.  I have seen where these thoughts have totally controlled people and their life.  They end up not living life.  I do not want to end up in that state of mind, so it is something I am constantly aware of.

4. Set goals and move toward them

We all have dreams and aspirations.  Anyone can achieve them if they put their mind to it.  It might not be easy, but it will definitely be worth it.  Having a goal gives you determination and motivation that you cannot replicate with anything else.  Even if its small steps toward a goal, you are still making more progress if you were not doing anything at all.

5.  Your goals are not set in stone, you are allowed to change them

This is something I defiantly have to engrain in my mind.  I am an all or nothing type person.  I don’t like to make plans or promises that I cannot keep.  If I tell someone I am doing something, I do it.  If I do not, I feel like a failure.  I have realized that my goals can change and I am allowed to change them.  I am not going to disappoint someone if I don’t follow though completely.  We are constantly changing, so our goals in life will change with it.

6. People do notice you.

I always thought that I was a nobody.  The truth is no one is a nobody, someone is always noticing the things we do-good or bad.  I think it is important to portray who you really are and to be your best self.  I am not saying you have to be perfect all the time because the best way we show ourselves is how we handle ourselves in difficult situations.  Try to keep in mind, how you want to be remembered?  I have been flabbergasted by some of things people have noticed about me that I never thought people would notice-good or bad.

7. Be yourself

I recently wrote a short post about this.  I have been truly fitting into myself the past couple years.  I have learned its okay to be myself because its the best person you can be anyway.  You don’t have to act a certain way or be what someone else wants you to be.  You are the best fit for the role of you!

8. Wake up early

In my opinion, I get the most accomplished when I wake up early.  My day starts off right.  Some of my goals have been fulfilled already.  On a good day, I wake up, workout, take a shower (without rushing), pray, read a verse or two, drink a cup of coffee, eat breakfast and get to work at a decent time.  Every time I wake up early, my day is wonderful.  I don’t know why I don’t do this everyday.  My willpower does not overcome my alarm clock all the time.

9. Be around supportive and positive people.

Wow, does this make a difference.  Encouraging people in your life can have the power for a person to move forward with a goal.  I have seen it through my husbands growth and mine as well.  Support and love can change people.  The potential in someone can skyrocket to places that you cannot dream.  The same goes for negative people in your life.  They can suck the energy out of you.

10.  Eat healthy and exercise, but also indulge every once in awhile.

It’s important to eat healthy and exercise.  The benefits are evident.  I have energy and feel great when I am consistent.  Also eat that candy bar or piece of cake every once in awhile.  It will definitely make you happier.  I don’t know where I would be without chocolate, probably bitter and angry all the time!

Sorry if this was not well written.  It is late for me and I am really tired.  I just felt like I needed to write! 🙂

One thought on “10 Lessons from a Twenty-Something”

Leave a Reply

