Power of God

1 Corinthians 2: 1-5

And when I came to you, brethren, I did not come with superiority of speech or of wisdom, proclaiming to you the testimony of God. For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified. I was with you in weakness and in fear and in much trembling, and my message and my preaching were not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith would not rest on the wisdom of men, but on the power of God.

In these verses Paul confirms that his wisdom is the power of God.  It is not anything Paul achieved.  He had no part in it.  He wanted to zone in on the fact that we should always seek God and not the world.

I have been in church all my life and have not read this verse like I once did.  I have been forgetting about how powerful God truly is and relying on myself.  How foolish am I?  We think we have the power to change someone’s mind about God and coming to know Him.  I was afraid something might offend a person or I wouldn’t say something right.  I have been doing this all wrong.  God is the only force that will change their mind.  We can try all we want.  We can read them bible verses, we can be an example of a biblical life or we can debate them about biblical truths all day and night-but nothing will change their heart except for God intervening in their life.  We can pray to God to open doors and He can certainly use us to carry out that persons journey with the Lord.  We just have to remember, we are a mere human. We cannot even touch the power God has!  We are resting on our own knowledge and wisdom too often.  God has the ability to do anything!!

 

Leave a Reply

