Are you a round peg in a square hole?

3546059144_1b33dfdc0e_o

“Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes … the ones who see things differently — they’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo. … You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them, but the only thing you can’t do is ignore them because they change things. … They push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the people who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do.”-Steve Jobs

My husband and I watched the movie Jobs, the story of Steve Job’s road to creating Apple.  Steve had a lot of passion for his work and the movie was intense.  The movie inspired me.  Steve Job’s is not portrayed in the most likable way, but he sure had the big picture in mind.  He cared about the customer and not about how much his company profited.

Steve’s most famous quote above is bold and motivational.  How many of us has ever felt like they didn’t belong because they liked something a bit different?  I used to want to be normal and be like everyone else, but it dawned on me that I am different.  I am a sweet, goofy dork and God did not make anyone else like me.  It’s okay to be different.  You won’t make everyone happy.  Be sure that people will still laugh at you for being different.  God made you with a purpose that only you can fulfill.  The most crazy things push our world forward.  Look at Einstein, he pushed the limits of math and science.  He is best known for the Quantum Theory of Light and Theory of Relativity.  Where would we be without “crazy” people pushing the limits?  Steve Job’s has revolutionized technology.  Where would we be without our most beloved iPhone in our pocket?

Like I have said before I am getting tired of limiting myself and the possibilities that God has given me.  I am ready to take a risk and maybe even be considered “crazy.”  That is one reason I started this blog.  I wanted a chance to write about how I feel with the hope that someone else can relate and take something from my writing.  I am ready to impact the world.

This reminds me of the parable of the farmer scattering his seeds in Matthew 13.

‘And He spoke many things to them in parables, saying, “Behold, the sower went out to sow; and as he sowed, some seeds fell beside the road, and the birds came and ate them up. Others fell on the rocky places, where they did not have much soil; and immediately they sprang up, because they had no depth of soil. But when the sun had risen, they were scorched; and because they had no root, they withered away.  Others fell among the thorns, and the thorns came up and choked them out. And others fell on the good soil and yielded a crop, some a hundredfold, some sixty, and some thirty.

This verse explains that every time you take a chance it won’t turn into something great-but some will.  If you never take a chance, you will get nothing.  I may write a thousand blog entries and only get a couple readers.  But if I only impact one person, my purpose is complete.  The person I impact, may impact thousands or millions of other people one day.  You don’t know if one seed planted could bloom into a beautiful field of flowers.  We do the sowing, God will do the watering.  It’s our duty to take chances and be considered “crazy.”

Photo provided by Flickr-click photo.

Leave a Reply

