Is being responsible and practical always the best decision?

5972249736_89ebeef860_b

I have always been responsible, practical and always do the right thing.  I made the honor roll all through school, only got put “on the wall” at recess once (we were moving and I forgot to get my agenda signed) and ALWAYS got picked for any extra school activities by teachers.  I keep a budget, I think consciously before buying things.  I try to keep friends and family members feelings in mind before making decisions.  I would be known as the “teacher’s pet” or “goody two shoes” at school or work.  I don’t do this to make myself look better or to brag, its just the way that I was raised.  I hate to disappoint people or have them angry at me.  For me, it is the worst feeling in the world.

I did do something “crazy” as one may call it, beyond the social norm.  I got married at nineteen.  My boyfriend and I had been dating for 3 years, we knew we were going to get married eventually.  Why not at nineteen?  This is one of the only “crazy” and bold decisions I have ever made for myself.  Getting married at nineteen is also one of the greatest decisions I have ever made.

That brings me to the question, is being practical and responsible always the best option?

I am very proud of the fact I did well in school and am a responsible person that always thinks through decisions before making a irrational choice.  Then why is one of the best decisions I have ever made, one did I not think as thoroughly as I normally would.  This question has been on my mind a lot recently.  Sometimes when you are responsible and practical all the time, you forget about living life.  I put too many restrictions on myself because of money, time and caring what people may think.  I forget about what I really want out of life.  The busyness of life, keeps me from living out my dreams and aspirations.  I find that thinking too much about something you want to do, can debilitate you from ever attaining the goal in mind.  You have to take a chance and do it.

The point is, there has to be a balance between responsibility and achieving your dreams.  I plan on being responsible, but carrying out my goals in life without thinking so precisely about the “what ifs.”

Picture provided by Flickr-click photo!

Leave a Reply

