Struggles with Coveting

3510848665_d9e4110356_b

“You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife or his male servant or his female servant or his ox or his donkey or anything that belongs to your neighbor”

Exodus 20:17

God specifically tells us not to covet.  For goodness sakes, it is one of the ten commandments!

In my recent post about Facebook, I realized that I have had some struggles with wanting things others have.  I thought it was more of an envy issue, but I think it all stems from coveting.  The definition of covet is to yearn or possess something.  To envy is a a feeling of discontented or resentful longing aroused by someone else’s possessions, qualities, or luck.  I am never jealous or mad about what others have.  I am excited for them!  I just want what they have.

As I reflect on my struggle with coveting, I realize this is common for many men and women.  Everyone always looks so perfect from the outside.  You know those girls, we all want to be her.  She looks like she has it all together.  She is smart, funny and attractive.  She has three kids while juggling a non-profit agency she started up.  She is super woman.  But like I said earlier, on the outside most of us look like we have it all together.  We are judging her based on social media or what others tell us.  We have a pre conceived view of this woman that we barely know.  How unfair is that to this woman?  She might be struggling with the same thing we are, but at a different level.  There will always be woman that seems to have it more together than we do.  And there are also woman who look at us like that.  We have to look at the big picture.  We are all woman who deal with many of the same struggles; insecurity, coveting, busyness, etc.  Instead of judging, we need to come together and be open about these sort of things.

This verse comes to mind when we judge someone based on the outside.

Proverbs 14:13

Even in laughter the heart may be in pain….

Like I will repeatedly say again.  She might have it all together from the outside, but she still has struggles.

Leave a Reply

