My Biggest Sin

When we think of sin we think of the big ones, like murder, adultery and stealing.  For a long time I thought I was pretty good person.  I don’t do any of those sins!  The last couple months I have been re-evalutating my Christian walk.  I have been a Christian for most of my life.  I was saved at a very young age.  I have always felt I should be farther along in my walk with the Lord than I am.  I have realized the biggest sin that has been holding me back is worry and anxiety about the future.  I have always been a worrier and I was aware of this, but recently God has truly opened my eyes to this sin.  When I look back on my life, worry and anxiety have gotten me no where.  I lay awake at night stressing about driving on the highway, my husband’s job situation, finances, family issues, my schedule for the week, my job…the list can go on.  This is such a waste of time.  This passage of scripture really puts everything in perspective.

Matthew 6: 25-34

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?  Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?  And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin.  Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.  But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

Worrying does not do anything for you.  It debilitates you.  It causes you sadness.  It causes negativity in your life and for others around you.  It causes you to miss out on life.  It scares you to try something new.  I think the worst thing it can do is ruin God’s plan for your life.  God has given us so much potential and gave each one of us a spiritual gift that no one else has.  We are each here for His purpose.  We all work together for the greater good.  (To explain more in depth read 1 Corinthians 12)  If you took those times you worry and replace it with prayer, bible reading or actively using the spiritual gifts God gave you-your spiritual growth could be unattainable.  Just think of what God could do in your life, if you let go the strains of worrying.  God wants you to come to Him with your worries. Matthew 11: 28-30, “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”  God can take away all our worries, as long as you give them to Him and trust Him.

What really convicts me is when I forget what God has done in my life so far.  I have been blessed more than I could ever imagine.  God has been with me the whole way and guided me though every situation in my life.  Every circumstance has always turned out better than I expected because God’s hand has been in it.  Please pray for me.  Worrying is like any other addiction.  It can control your life and take it over.  I know though God’s strength and guidance, He can help me overcome this sin.  He can make me into the Christian woman I am supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

